Certificate IV in Training & Assessment

The Certificate IV in Training and Assessment specifies the competencies required to deliver training in an industry area or an area of subject matter expertise, and to conduct competency based assessment in a range of contexts.

By achieving this award participants will be qualified to deliver training and assess competency against standards in the Papua New Guinea National Training Quality Framework and the Australian Qualifications Framework, and to work within the national technical vocational education and training sectors of both Australia and Papua New Guinea.

Our program is competency based and designed to meet the PNG and Australian Quality Training Framework standards using the Australian qualifications and competencies contextualised to PNG.


The qualification is registered with the PNG National Training Council. The Australian qualification can be obtained also by paying the additional fee charged by our Australian TAFE partner (Kangan Institute of TAFE, Victoria) to process the enrolment and assessment. The program, materials and assessment requirements are the same whether participants enrol for the IÉA College of TAFE, PNG registered qualification only, or for both the PNG and Australian qualifications.


 Download the 2014 Professional Courses Schedule


Components of the Program

Units of Competency Unit Code Unit Title

Training of Trainers:

(required for NTC Registration as ‘Instructor’)

These competencies meet the PNG National Training Council’s requirements for registration as ‘Instructor’.
TAEASS402A   Assess competence
TAEDEL401A   Plan, organise and deliver group-based learning
TAEDEL402A Plan, organise and facilitate learning in the workplace

Trainers & Assessor’s Course

These competencies meet the PNG National Training Council’s requirements for registration as ‘Trainer and Assessor’

(in addition to completing the Instructor competencies)

TAEDES402A Use training packages and accredited courses to meet client needs
TAEDES401A Design and develop learning programs
TAEASS401A Plan assessment activities and processes
TAADES502A Design and develop learning resources
TAEASS502A Design and develop assessment tools
Additional competencies to complete full Certificate IV TAA TAEASS403A Participate in assessment validation (Core)
TAELLN401A   Address adult language, literacy and numeracy skills (Elective)


Other Elective competencies
Other TAE40110 Elective competencies can also be provided if required by participants’ work requirements. The grouping of competencies can be varied to suit participants’ experience and work environments. Alternative TAE40110 elective competencies include:
TAEDEL301A Provide work skill instruction
TAEASS 301A Contribute to Assessment
BSBCMM401A Make a presentation


Further Information on UNITS OF COMPETENCY


Some other elective units related to candidates work situations are possible, but agreement on the evidence requirements needs to be negotiated with the program facilitators.

Participants may seek Recognition for Prior Learning (RPL) in any of these units, or in elective units other than those chosen for program delivery.  This also needs to be discussed with the program facilitators.

Details of all competencies permissible in the qualification are contained in the TAE10 Training and Assessment Training Package available from https://training.gov.au. ‘An abridged version of this Training Package will be provided to participants in the first workshop.


Target Group:            Individuals involved in providing competency based training and /or assessment services. This qualification meets the requirement for registration as a Trainer and or Assessor under both the Australian and PNG Quality Training Frameworks.


Participants are required to complete a total of 10 competency units to complete the full Certificate IV qualification.


This qualification is equivalent to and replaces the previous TAA40104 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment. The new TAE10 Training and Education Training Package was endorsed by the Australian National Quality Council in May 2010.